Seven Mountains

Revelation 17:9  And here is the mind which hath wisdom. The seven heads are seven mountains, on which the woman sitteth.
10  And there are seven kings: five are fallen, and one is, and the other is not yet come; and when he cometh, he must continue a short space.

The Bible mentions “seven mountains” only once. And there is no ambiguity about what they are. The seven mountains are seven kings (rulers of nations).

Five were dead and gone, part of history.

One was present at the time the book of Revelation was written.

One was yet to come.

The same phrase “seven mountains” is being used in some circles as a way of referencing seven “mountains of culture” which supposedly God wants the church (or members of the church) to develop strong influence in. According to many Christian leaders, God revealed the following 7 spheres as “mountains of culture” to be “reclaimed” by the church. See

The seven are listed in alphabetical order in the Reclaim 7 Mountains website:
  1. Arts and Entertainment
  2. Business
  3. Education
  4. Family
  5. Government
  6. Media
  7. Religion
The use of a Biblical term, specially one requiring wisdom to understand, in a completely different context, demands that we use wisdom and inquire as to whether climbing seven mountains is really God’s assignment to the church.
Could it be that Satan wants to lure the church away from her two-fold mission (to evanelize, and to disciple (Matthew 28:18-20), by distractingly providing a “seven mountain” framework that will engage huge chunks (if not all) of their attention?. And what cleverer distraction than to use a concept introduced into the body of Christ by Bill Bright and Loren Cunningham, two great evangelists of the 20th century; supported in their view by Francis Schaeffer?
How important to look to the scriptures themselves rather than visions to understand the plan of God for the church and the world.
%d bloggers like this: